62° F
Partly Cloudy
Partly Cloudy
58° F
Partly Cloudy
Partly Cloudy
64° F

Voters prepare for elections in Three Forks, West Yellowstone, Big Sky

Published On: Oct 18 2013 05:35:09 PM MDT   Updated On: Oct 18 2013 06:47:01 PM MDT

To read about the longest Senate filibusters in history, click here.

BOZEMAN, Mont. -

In Gallatin County, voters will make their mark for several candidates running in Three Forks, West Yellowstone and Big Sky.

Two candidates are vying for Three Forks Mayor -- Steven Hamilton is running against current mayor Gene Townsend.

The 4-year full Council Member term race is uncontested. George Chancellor, Dennis Nelson and Sharon Smith are running for three open spots. Teri Whitesitt is running unopposed for the 2-year unexpired Council Member term.

In Big Sky, four are hoping to get elected to one of two full-term Director Big Sky Resort Tax District positions. That's Heather Budd, Robert (Bob) Shanks, Hans Williamson and incumbent Virginia (Ginna) Hermann.

Jeffrey Strickler is the only candidate running for the one 2-year, unexpired term Director Big Sky Resort Tax District.

In West Yellowstone, voters can make their mark for three 4-year Council Member spots -- Willie Binfet, Cole Parker and incumbents Tom Cherhoniak, Jerry Johnson and Brad Schmier are running.

They'll also be voting for one 2-year unexpired West Council Member -- Brenda Martin or incumbent Blaize "Doc" Stewart.

In Belgrade, races for Mayor and Council Members in Wards 1, 2 and 3 are uncontested. Manhattan also has all races uncontested -- Mayor and two Council Member seats.